Morgan Routs McVaigh; Secures Republican Nomination For Sheriff

Wabash County Sheriff Derek Morgan easily won the Republican nomination for re-election in Tuesday's primary. The GOP sheriff’s nomination was the only contested race on the ballot in Wabash County and it was all Morgan as he smashed challenger Jimmy McVaigh by garnering almost 82% of the vote compared to only 18% for McVaigh. Morgan talked with us after securing the nomination….


Morgan does not face a democratic opponent in the November election for his second 4-year term.

2018 Wabash County Primary Election Results-FINAL

16 Of 16 Precincts Reporting

24.90% Voter Turnout
Registered Voters: 8,459
Ballots Cast-Total:2,106
Ballots Cast-Republican: 1,701
Ballots Cast-Democrat: 405

Republican Primary Ballot:

Wabash County Sheriff
J. Derek Morgan-1,382 (81.82%)
Jimmy L. McVaigh-307 (18.18%)

109th State Representative:
David B Reis-836
Darren Bailey-784

Bruce Rauner-802
Jeanne Ives-802

Attorney General:
Erika Harold-734
Gary Grasso-675

Democratic Primary Ballot:

State Central Committeewoman:
Vivian Robinson-34
Tonya Loker-14
Rena Elkins Bever-269
Diana K. Douglas-43
Germaine Light-16

JB Pritzker-170
Chris Kennedy-117
Daniel Biss-57
Bob Daiber-8
Tio Hardiman-5
Robert Marshall-14

Attorney General:
Pat Quinn-193
Renato Mariotti-29
Scott Drury-17
Nancy Rotering-33
Kwame Raoul-41
Jesse Ruiz-9
Sharon Fairley-29
Aaron Goldstein-12

15th District Congressman:
Carl Spoerer-117
Kevin Gaither-236

Our Election Returns Are Brought To You By:

Harris Insurance Agency
Wabash County Coroner Shaun Keepes
J. Wilderman Autoplex
Wabash General Hospital
First National Bank
Borowiak's IGA
Short-Cunningham Funeral Home

obit pic cropped (1) edited.jpg