Deadline Day To File For 2018 Election

5pm today is the deadline for candidates to file in next year’s election and so far, the local ballot will feature only one contested race and that’s for Wabash County sheriff. Last week, incumbent Sheriff Derek Morgan who is running for a second term was the first to file. Morgan will have opposition in the March 20th primary as Jimmy McVaigh also filed to run for the Republican nomination for sheriff. Others filing so far are incumbents County Clerk Janet Will, treasurer Beverly McBride, and county commissioner Tim Hocking. Petitions can still be picked up and filed today until 5pm in the county clerk's office.

download (4).jpg